Your Source For Auto Repair In Chattanooga, TN

You Don't Have to Take Our Word for It!

Here's what some of our satisfied customers have to say about Gears Transmission:

08/24/2022

Wonderful customer service, kept us updated every step of the way. Worked with the warranty company and had everything done as quick as possible. Very honest and helpful! Will definitely use them in the future!



07/26/2022

CJ and his wife Jess are so kind and caring. They do wonderful work. These people have no competition. When it comes to quality work in a timely manner, look no further. They have such a great team.



07/01/2022

Great team they have the knowledge to diagnosis problems and that is getting harder to find.



06/28/2022

Want to thank Ashley in the parts department for her wonderful service and for the tech guys yall are awesome.



06/18/2022

One million stars isn't enough to express my gratitude. Please read this and share it with everyone. Hebrews 13:2 "Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares." I'm no angel, but Mr. Hicks and everyone at Gears Transmission is ready for that test. I am a Trucker and I broke down, under load, on I-75 right above Gears Transmissions. What I needed to get moving again was a "T" hose connector and coolant. I went, first, to a neighboring Truck repair shop. They didn't have the part and I asked if I could pay someone to give me a ride to the nearest hardware store or auto parts store. The man said it would be awhile and cost $150. Same as a road call, plus 2 hours min. Labor. Something in my gut said to walk. Well, I walked next door to Gears and asked if they would sell me a T fitting. The guys and gals all went out of their way to help me, offering me water, or soda while I waited. They too didn't have a suitable sized "T", but the owner said we can call the parts store and have it brought here. So, with full intent to pay a normal up-charge for his time and work, I asked them to include a pair of plyers and 4 gallons of coolant to the order. When the items arrived, Mr. Hicks, not only, handed me 3 hose clamps for my project, he also asked one of his guys to give me a ride back to my truck. I pulled out my credit card, happily ready to pay just about ANY halfway reasonable amount of $$ for the amazing care and attention I had just received, BUT.... Mr. Hick refused to accept ANY, I mean ZERO, money for all of his. I made my delivery on time, Thanks to these amazing people. If they treat a Stranger in need like this, I can only imagine how they treat their customers. Sometimes, like this, it's perhaps a stranger knocking on the doors of an angel's house. Thank you Mr. Hicks, and thank you, Steve, for the ride back to my truck. I will pay it forward!



05/20/2022

I had trouble finding a certain solenoid pack and also a certain gasket, well they had both and way cheaper on prices too, very very respectful and professional. Customer service they gave is the top role model in customer service etiquette, they were very very knowledgeable in what they do. They helped me tremendously with troubleshooting and I'm no mechanic but they broke down the steps in a way I could easily understand and now my van is running great..... Pick Gears and you will definitely be shifting yourself into the right direction!!!



05/13/2022

First Class Business. Called in to find a part. They spent the time trying to find it. When I needed assistance getting my jeep in gear so I could drive it to the shop they walked me through the procedure. We were stranded otherwise. From start to finish they bent over backwards to ensure that we were fixed up and ready to go. In this day of lousy customer service it was a real treat to do business with the team at Gears.



04/27/2022

So glad I was able to have my truck fixed by the team over at Gears. Huge thanks to Justin for giving me constant updates and staying in touch. The guys there are really experienced and knowledgeable. Would definitely recommend to anyone at any time!!



04/07/2022

Best guys in the business. They've built 2 transmissions and swapped an engine for me and I've never had a single complaint. If you want the best, this is it. 10/10 do recommend!



03/07/2022

I want to thank C.J and Stephen for all their time and work on rebuilding my transmission. Thank you guys so much you are my go to people now for any repairs I need done.



03/04/2022

These guys go above and beyond. You can't ask for better service! 10 stars!



03/02/2022

Transmission went out in my truck, called and talked to Justin, him, CJ, Tyler and all the others were very helpful and got my trans rebuilt and had it back to me in 2 days. Overall this is the best place to go and I will keep going to them in the future.



02/15/2022

Exceptional service!! Courteous service from ALL staff and OUTSTANDING work on the repair not to mention quick! Any repair needing work THIS IS THE PLACE TO GO!!! They know the true meaning of customer service!



02/11/2022

Great shop and people that work there. Always professional and nice.



02/09/2022

Great customer service and quick turn around time. Highly recommend!!!!



02/07/2022

I needed a quick fix for a bad battery. Gears took care of my problem right away. Rhonda was very helpful in setting this up for me. The owners CJ and his wife Jessica are so kind and accommodating. I will be using Gears for all my vehicle needs in the future.



reviewicon
02/04/2022

Great people. Great work!



02/04/2022

Amazing service, quick and easy, great price for a rebuild on my trans. Dropped it off and they had my truck back in 2 days, even though they were super busy. Justin was awesome.



reviewicon
02/04/2022

Rhonda and the girls took care of me, they are the best most definitely recommend!!!



01/27/2022

These guys are very good at what they do. Transmission rebuilt in 4 days. about 3 weeks ago. Another mechanic in a city 1000 miles away, doing routine service on my car just now old me, That transmission looks beautiful. AND ... it works really well !!! with a very good warranty. Not sure how they could do better than what they did.



reviewicon
11/10/2021

Great service we will definitely be using them for years to come they really do a very in depth diagnostic they checked everything for us and got us back on the road fairly quick taking in consideration of what repairs we needed I was informed with every step of the repair and they are very friendly and professional Steven and Johnathon were my go tos for everything and are amazing at what they do



08/30/2021

Got cj to rebuild an a518 in a first gen cummins, he did a really good job, shifts smoother than most new trucks.



reviewicon
08/24/2021

Awesome



08/19/2021

Had the stage 1 HD kit installed on my 2005 Dodge 2500. With a HD torque converter. Trans shifts extremely smooth. CJ and Jessica were really great and knowledgeable. They will definitely have my future business.



07/29/2021

These guys had my sister's jeep for transmission repair and did a great job. Came to my house to pick it up, who else offers that kind of service. Thanks again guys. I would highly highly recommend this place.



reviewicon
07/04/2021

Very much pleased follow their protocol by putting 1,000 miles before towing, would highly recommend Gears Transmission! Highly knowledgeable about there business!



reviewicon
05/27/2021

CJ is a man of his word and cares about his customers and went the extra mile for me. I am happy with the repairs and will keep going back for any problems I have. I highly recommend them. Cant forget about Brian and his crew, nice and professional and willing to work with you.



reviewiconTop Notch
05/05/2021

Top notch automotive repair!


reviewicon
04/02/2021

Brian's a man of his word and my truck drives better then it did when I bought it with 98000 miles on it... and they picked my truck up on a Monday called said it was ready Friday. Fastest and best warranty around. Thanks guys



reviewicon
03/22/2021

Great service



reviewicon
03/15/2021

Very knowledgeable, friendly and competitive prices



reviewicon
03/08/2021

They are good guys full answer questions and everything for you you don't even have to buy anything from them just give them a call and they'll answer your question for you



03/04/2021

These guys are awesome very professional and upfront communication wise and willing to help with anything possible. Just got car back yesterday with new transmission they were very thorough and quick with the process only one day in after the rebuild but, Drove GREAT. GREAT Warranty 3 yr. Unlimited Mileage so, if anything does go wrong which I pray it doesn't we are covered!!! Brian is a top notch guy who will take care of you so give him a call has great technicians to fix all your troubles.



03/02/2021

They helped get this bad boy back on the road after I turned the 4L60E into slush around 215K miles. They rebuilt it completely and didn't just crate swap it. Just ask when you need to bring it in for serving to keep the 3 year warranty up.



02/16/2021

Brian Duke from Gears took extra good care of us and our car needs! We were stranded in Chattanooga with a broke axel and Brian handled our problem and got us back on the road ASAP! Thanks Gears!



02/16/2021

I've been a customer for about 3 yrs now and call Brian for advice on about any repairs my vehicles need. I'm always given sound advice even when it may lose a sale. Honest, dependable, knowledgeable professionals. If you want to feel confident the services were needed and done correctly the First time, this is the place.



reviewicon
01/24/2021

Expensive. But you do get what you pay for. Excellent service. I'll be back



reviewicon
12/17/2020

Brian duke was very professional with me and my truck he did an outstanding job on my 2003 GMC Sierra 1500 AWD Denali. Thank you so much for everything you've done to my truck and for getting it done in a timely fashion... I hope Brian Duke and his fellow employees have a wonderful Merry Christmas and a happy New Year THANK Y'ALL SO MUCH FOR EVERYTHING



reviewicon
12/10/2020

I was very impressed with gears transmission they were very professional and knowledgeable about there work and also they fit me in there busy schedule to get my truck fixed so I can get back to work I strongly recommend them for all ur automotive needs Brian duke is a man of his word and worth every penny



12/03/2020

TRUST GEARS. They picked up my vehicle from my home, and BUILT Trasmission tough as nails. Also get the HD Package it's worth the money!! Brian Duke was a man of his word, he kept me informed every step of the way and I'm greatful for this company. Thank You to the guys at Gear's



reviewicon
11/25/2020

Amazing customer service with knowledgeable and hardworking staff!! Highly suggest Gears!



11/02/2020

It only takes going to a few bad shops to really appreciate one that knows what they're doing. Gears has been nothing but exceptional service from day one, and has become my only choice for engine and transmission work. Brian is very personable and communicative, and runs the shop well. Definitely one of the best shops in the area.



10/20/2020

Excellent service. From the moment we called very professional and gave the impression they appreciated the business, even thanked me for my business. It was a clutch change out in a Mazda 3. They were done in less than 2 days. 2 DAYS! I will be referring everyone to this place.



reviewicon
10/20/2020

Excellent customer service! Speedy and efficient! Gears did everything they could to keep the costs down while providing the best customer service hands down! The communication before, during and after was spot on! Thank you the Lil 3 is a happy girl now and she runs great!



reviewicon
10/02/2020

I have been to Gears many times and as a young girl, they have really taken me under their wing to make sure that I am getting the safest/most trustworthy work done. There have even been times when other car places have tried to take advantage of my lack of knowledge of cars, but Gears has helped me know who to trust. Great great guys that you can trust! Totally recommend!



09/27/2020

I have a tuned and deleted 2018 ram cummins. The transmission started slipping and I took it to the guys at Gears to get a stage 2 rebuilt transmission. The owner got news that some parts where going to be delivered a day later than expected, so he drove eight hours to pick them up. I highly recommend the guys at Gears for any transmission needs.



reviewicon
09/11/2020

Very pleasant experience all things considered. Very professional yet down to earth. Will use again.



reviewicon
09/02/2020

They were super nice and professional. I would recommend them to anyone


reviewicon
08/28/2020

Superior service! You guys have made me a customer for life. I will refer you every chance I get! Thanks Brian and crew!



08/27/2020

We have a used car lot and we use Gears for all of our transmission work. They do great work and we highly recommend.



reviewicon
08/12/2020

The team here did a great job on my car and were very knowledgeable about what I wanted, and needed for my application. Great Customer service! Also offer a zero percent finance option that is very helpful.



reviewicon
06/19/2020

Good guys that do excellent work



07/13/2020

Had to take car back because the O2 sensor wire got pinched between the transmission but it was a honest mistake they fixed it with no problem.. yes I would recommend them



06/09/2020

Took my 2000 F350 SD Diesel in for transmission overhaul. Brian was very friendly and knew what he was talking about. ( i'm a retired gearhead/ tech ) so was pleased with his knowledge. The repairs were done as we had discussed with no surprises, a real bonus these days ! I will be going back for any other repairs that are needed. VERY PLEASED !!! Bruce French



reviewicon
05/27/2020

Brian and co. really did me a solid at an opportune time by troubleshooting a minor error that had disabled my car while traveling through the area. Y'all are good people, and I'm incredibly grateful for the help. Many, many thanks.



05/01/2020

My truck had transmission and other issues and i took it to Gears as they were the best warranty and price i could find. Brian and charles were keeping me up to date with progress and issues they found. I couldn?t of asked for a better shop. Wont go anywhere else when i break something on my truck!



reviewicon
03/10/2020

I'm new to the area. Took my envoy there Brian has gone above and beyond to help me get my truck fixed great customer service



reviewicon
02/28/2020

I would like to say that Brian, CJ and the entire crew was so helpful, professional and nice. I would recommend this beautiful place to any and everyone. Thank you guys so much!!!! Jennifer A.



02/22/2020

Gears Transmission was great! We were on the way to Florida from Michigan and our transmission went out in our Yukon. Brian answered his phone when the shop was closed because we were out of state#. He walked us through everything and a few days later we were on the road with a rebuilt transmission. Thanks for your help!!



02/06/2020

I have been very pleased with the service I have received from Gears Transmission. I became a customer over a year ago when my grandson's Dodge Ram truck needed a transmission repair . After shopping around for the best pricing, I found the Gears plan was best. The rebuilt transmission has been great !! Recently, Gears has completed a major repair on my Jeep Wrangler. They diagnosed the problem and had the problem fixed in two days? time! And the price for the repair was competitive! The service was fast and efficient. I trust Gears for the best work at the best price! Special Thanks to Bryan, the general manager, for going out of his way to get my car back to me as quickly as possible! You guys Rock!



01/27/2020

Got me in on short notice for a transmission service on my Ford F-150. called before they opened figuring I would leave a message but was surprised when someone answered! I asked if they could fit me in this morning before lunch and was extremely happy to hear they could. Service was great and everything was explained to me and they had an answer for any questions I had.



reviewicon
11/21/2019

The staff at Gears was nothing less then amazing from start to finish . Huge thanks for getting my Lincoln back to perfection. Highly recommended



11/15/2019

Great service, great price, Great quality cheaper than any of the other local competitors. My transmission went out on Friday morning and I contacted Brian, my Escalade was picked up and at the shop by that afternoon. My car now shifts better than several new cars I have bought in the past, and them painting the entire transmission case, not just the pan, before reinstalling it was a nice finishing touch and shows they take pride in their work. I will be using Gears transmission for all of my future transmission service needs. Once again Service that can't be beat, great turnaround time, and unsurpassed quality. Thank you guys, you we're real lifesavers on this.



11/07/2019

Had a transmission cooler and shocks installed. Fair price, service and professionalism over the TOP. Thanks guys.



10/19/2019

Great company to work for. My family and i just moved to the area about 4 months ago and they were the first shop I looked into for a job bc they had such a high reputation in the area for quality work and costumer service. I've been in the transmission industry for almost 17yrs and CJ and the guys made me feel right at home from day one and they really know there stuff. I'm glad I made them the first choice and I'd never take it back.



reviewicon
10/19/2019

Being a female disabled veteran, I am accustomed to having to be on the defense when getting car repairs. But Gears Transmission was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! They opened on a Sunday to fix my wheelchair van because I was desperate. They found the problem quickly. The initial quote came in actually much lower. The staff was so nice and courteous. The facility was barrier free-which is unusual for a repair facility. I was truly impressed. I will be using them for now on.



reviewicon
10/19/2019

Great service I had to wait a while for my parts but they did a great job on my car



10/16/2019

They did everything they possibly could to help my family when we needed it most. They genuinely care about their customers and giving quality work. This is gotta be THE BEST transmission shop on the east coast. Thanks Brian and everyone at Gears!!



10/04/2019

I've got 5 old cars sitting in my driveway. This the the 2nd car that I've taken to Gears and hopefully it won't happen, but if there is a 3rd transmission that goes out I know who to call.



reviewicon
09/09/2019

Delicious. Shareable portions. Great prices. Great service.



08/06/2019

Took our Chevrolet Suburban to CJ at Gears Transmissions. I highly recommend them for all your transmission work. Very professional and courteous and did everything they said they would do.



reviewicon
08/01/2019

I would highly recommend using these guys! It's so hard to find a good and honest repair shop these days. They went above and beyond to make sure my vehicle was save to drive with my family. Thank you guys so much!



reviewicon
07/30/2019

They are simply the best! Fantastic prices, amazing customer service, and the only place I will ever recommend!



05/26/2019

Omg where do i begin. First off being broke down 500 miles from home in the Middle of no where. Find Gears on line 4.9 star rating. Not near high enough 10 rating. Young man gets a tow truck to 80 mile round trip us when we could not even get a tow. Gets us in his shop treats us like gold. Stops working on multiple cars and promises us we will be on the road in hours. And they did just that fixed our truck and had us on the road and under 100 for transmission work. Unreal what a great guy and awesome place. Gears the best of the best. 10. Louisville. Ky



05/25/2019

These guys were excellent! They did exactly what I needed and gave me great advice. I highly recommend them for any of your transmission needs! Thanks guys



05/19/2019

Found Gears through positive reviews. Made an appointment to change transmisson fluid. Brian was very knowledgable and offers great service. Technicians appeared knowledgable and conscientious. Car runs great and experience very positive. Go see these folks...



reviewicon
05/13/2019

The price was right. Friendly and I would differently tell people about. This they got it fixed in a reasonable time frame. Not many places are like this anymore.



05/07/2019

I had my Mustang's transmission rebuilt here.. and my mustang went from I almost thought it was dieing.. to a completely different car!! I requested a stall converter n shift kit to be added so the price was a bit more than a regular rebuild prize but I?m very pleased with the way it responses.. Also might I add the employees are great they will tell you what you need to know, with a little comedy to pass time... But altogether I would recommend this place to anyone who needs any transmission work to there car,suv,truck!!!



reviewicon
04/18/2019

I had a great experience with these guys. The part my truck needed was not easy to get so it took a little while in that aspect. But over all great, no b.s., once the part came in they got it fixed pretty quick for a fair price. I would highly recommend this shop.



03/06/2019

I'll put it this way. First I started by shopping around for prices. The first shop told me >$2500 the other shops I looked at told me the same thing. Being that I owned multiple Chevy vehicles and replaced numerous transmissions in my other Chevy I figured I would never find a shop to do a transmission job less than that. Did some looking around and came to my trusty google website and found Gears Transmission. Was looking at the ratings and said yeah they probably got 4.9 stars out of 5 due to not having that many reviews. Boy was I wrong!! I decided to give then a call and I'm glad i did. Talked to Brian and he gave me a quote and immediately was taken back by the price. He gave me the quote of 1895 plus tax. Like I said I never thought I would pay less than 2500 on a transmission rebuild. Decided I would set up an appointment and they even offered to pick my vehicle up. Being the person I am I decided I would take my vehicle up there in person to meet this wonderful crew. I ended up making it up there on Monday and had the pleasure of meeting Brian and he was as nice as he was on the phone. Also while in the waiting area I wasnt the only customer at that time. I arrived around noon and noticed Brian was the only one assisting with customers. He ended up keeping his composure and was respectful and kind just as if he was dealing with the same person back to back. This place will have always have my business if I need any other vehicle work done. This place definitely earns their business just as they state. I will definitely recommend this place to anyone I come across. Job well done guys. Keep up the good work.



03/01/2019

Went in for transmission service. Gears found that two bolts on the rear of my transmission pan were broken off by a BIG NAME TRANSMISSION CO. That had done my last service. The pan had sealant holding it on in the back where the bolts had been broken. Gears drilled the broken ones and used an ease out to get them free. Then put in those new bolts plus two others. At no extra charge. Bryan said a job has to be done right and wouldn't let me pay extra for the bolts. Gears is the best Transmission Service I've ever used. You can trust them.



02/16/2019

A place where customer satisfaction if the top goal. Quality build and repairs at great prices. They stand behind their work 100%!



reviewicon
01/28/2019

I was very happy with the service and the price.



reviewicon
01/17/2019

This place has some of the best employees I have ever had to work with. They are super personable, shoot you straight, and genuinely want to help you out. I would recommend them to anybody. Bryan Duke the Sales Manager is the MAN! He is going to take this company to a new level.



06/18/2018

You couldn't find a better, more honest, or knowledgeable group of guys to work on your vehicle. Engines, transmissions, transfer cases, or diffs... They've got you covered... Give CJ, Tyler, or Chris a call



reviewicon
05/21/2018

Very professional and courteous. Customer comes first in all aspects



05/21/2018

Hands down the best transmission shop in the area! The guys at Gears always go way beyond to ensure everything is done the correct way! I would highly recommend them to everyone!



reviewicon
05/21/2018

Great guys, and they hooked me up with a great product. You ain't gonna find quality at a cheaper price. Towed it for free and all. Tyler and Cj are the go to guys!



04/18/2018

we highly recommend Gears Transmission in East Ridge. Hands-down THE best transmission shop in Chattanooga. It's the only transmission facility that we refer our customers with European vehicles to. 5 stars!



03/30/2018

Very best Transmission or any car repair. Honest people and will have you fixed in no time.He Gets you the best you can ask for and very reliable. Very pleased with everything CJ & Tyler did they are the best at what they do.



02/25/2018

Gears has rebuilt the trans in my green 4x4 and replaced the trans and internals of the trans in my 2007 BMW. Wouldn't go anywhere else, guys have more knowledge than other trans shops in the area and will take care of you. A+++



02/01/2018

Best warranty in the business. None of the other transmission places could come close. Great service, price was even cheaper than the competitors quoted also.



reviewicon
01/23/2018

Awesome place ,great people highly recommend



reviewicon
12/13/2017

Great staff!



12/12/2017

Had our transmission rebuilt here. I was given a quote range up front and was called back with a final quote after full inspection of transmission internals. Communication was handed well and I was kept informed of progress. Their pricing was the reason we came here, but the people is why we will cine back.



11/23/2017

Great people and service. Transmission works awesome and puts more power to the ground.



reviewicon
11/09/2017

These guys are super professional and will do what ever it takes to get you back on the road. They also hooked me up with the 15% discount for being a first responder. I recommend these guys to everyone!!!!



reviewicon
08/24/2017

Awesome team had me up and running in no time I will definitely recommend to others.



08/24/2017

I have a 98 Z71, had them rebuild my transmission and rear end, great prices, good quality, and amazing service! Would recommend to anyone!



08/24/2017

Fast service and excellent work. I highly recommended gears for any transmission needs.



reviewicon
08/24/2017

Did my truck and a couple of my family members vehicles very good work



reviewicon
08/24/2017

Great people, great prices, great work



reviewicon
08/22/2017

Great guys will go over and beyond keep up the good work



reviewicon
08/21/2017

Great Work! Good Prices!



reviewicon
08/21/2017

Professional and on time. Take pride in their work and present all the options and outcomes.



reviewicon
08/21/2017

Couldn't of had a better experience, Very personal! And highly recommended



reviewicon
08/21/2017

Great service and technicians, these people don't just take your money, they really do care about their customers and make sure you're taken care of an running safely back on the roads!! Keep up the great work as I can't say this about too many other shops in the region.



reviewicon
08/21/2017

Great service, professional work, timely manor of getting our vehicles back to us , highly recommended........




Partners

ASE (Automotive Service Excellence)
BBB (Better Business Bureau)
ATRA
ATSG
Car Care Aware

What our clients are saying about us

We have established longterm and stable partnerships with various clients thanks to our excellence in solving their automotive needs!

Wonderful customer service, kept us updated every step of the way. Worked with the warranty company and had everything done as quick as possible. Very honest and helpful! Will definitely use them in the future! quotes-image
, 08/24/2022
CJ and his wife Jess are so kind and caring. They do wonderful work. These people have no competition. When it comes to quality work in a timely manner, look no further. They have such a great team.quotes-image
, 07/26/2022